Finally 7th Ballon d’Or in Messi’s hands

Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or, beating the likes of Lewandowski and Karim Benzema. The Argentine superstar won the title for the record 7th time.
Pic: DW

On Monday (November 30) evening in Paris, the 34-year-old Messi overtook Robert Lewandowski, Jorginho and Karim Benzema to win the award. Earlier in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, 2019, the football magician lifted this trophy.

Messi, Lefandowski, Jorginho, Karim Benzema and Angolo Kante were shortlist for the Ballon d’Or. Out of these five players, Messi won the award by getting the highest number of votes from journalists. Polish striker Robert Lewandowski was second. Third Italian midfielder Jorginho.

Read Also: Top Delivery Companies & Food Delivery Apps in Saudi Arabia.

Earlier, Messi gave an interview to the Daily Post on November 3 about his potential in the Ballon d’Or. “I am not thinking of winning the Ballon d’Or,” he said. But if we get it, there will be nothing happier than that. ‘

Messi has won the Ballon d’Or a record six times so far. Then there is Cristiano Ronaldo. The last time Lionel Messi got the Ballon d’Or was in 2019. The Ballon d’Or was not announce in 2020 due to the corona virus.

The Ballon d’Or is consider the highest personal award in football. The Ballon d’Or has been award to the best player in Europe since 1958. Until 1994, the award was give only to players from Europe.

Since then, the prize has been open to any player in the world playing in Europe. And since 2006, not only the best footballer in Europe, the award has been give to the best footballer in the world.

The French magazine France Football presents the award to the best performer of the year each year. A shortlist of 30 people was release on October 8 for this year’s award.

Follow Us For More Update WhatsApp Group or Telegram Channel or Google News.

Stay Connected With Us On Our Facebook Page.


Related Articles

Back to top button
No menu locations found.